What I Learned From Starting On My First Manuscript

I woke from my dream with a start. The images were still flashing bright in my eyes, in the silence of the night. Mom’s steady breathing beside me reminded me that I wasn’t meant to be awake, so, I worked on getting back to sleep.

The next morning, I still remembered the entire dream, which is very unusual. One of my friends told me that a person forgets a small percentage of a dream within the first ten seconds of waking up, but within the next ten seconds, s/he forgets a huge chunk of it. That would make the dream perpetually useless.

But I remembered. A nagging voice at the back of my head told me I had to write it down.

Fast forward almost a year later, I was still considering whether to write it or not. In a very remote location inside my brain.

I had started on another project recently, something that I have been meaning to write for about two years now. And, to be honest, I’m losing momentum. I am stuck at the end of the twelfth chapter. I have no idea what will happen next.

The dream, though, is a different story. Its not fantasy like the one I just mentioned. Its supernatural, or, more appropriately, paranormal to some extent, mixed with a teeny bit of teen fiction.

And right now, its not just the original singular dream I began with. Its a mix of three, combined with a twist that wasn’t in any of them.

What I learned is this:

1. When I see the picture, i don’t care what’s around me.

2. I can write in front of anyone as long as they don’t bother me, a.k.a., stare or ask or try to peep.

3. Despite that, working in a place out of everybody’s line of sight is sort or liberating.

4. I can write an entire chapter in one go, and still be happy with everything in it.

5. There is so much to fix that I am going to go mad when I’m editing.

I have no idea why I am so hooked on to this novel. No publisher is going to take it. I don’t think I can afford an editor. I’m broke. Writing it has just been such an awesome ride that I don’t want to give up on it.

I’m scared though. My O levels are fast approaching, and here I am working away on a novel. Ten subjects…

So, I am going to set myself a deadline today. I shall finish Walker Stalker within exactly three weeks from now. I’m currently on page 62. Won’t be any longer than 100 (I think).

Today is the 14th of Jan where I am. Meaning, I’ll be due to finish on the 4th of Feb. The countdown starts.

Cheer me on and wish me luck. I’ll need it.

*goes offline nervously*

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

2 thoughts on “What I Learned From Starting On My First Manuscript”

Leave a Reply

