The Kite Runner

Prestigious Writers' Club

“It’s a sad story.”

“Sad stories make good books,” she said.

~The Kite Runner

I’ve had the honor, more than once, of being recommended a book that devasted the one who recommended it. It tore their heart out, stomped on it till it was broken beyond repair, and they came out, handed the book to me. The Kite Runner was one of these many.

I read it at an unlikely time. The O Level mocks were going on, and I was supposed to be studying all day. But nothing breaks the bleakness of routine better than a book.

I’ll try my best to not fill this with spoilers, because:

  1. I don’t want to, and
  2. If you haven’t read it, I don’t want to spoil it for you.

I try and imagine the situation in Kabul, around the time when they had to flee. It must have been something like that…

View original post 261 more words

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

Leave a Reply

