IBMC #9: The Be a Baby Challenge

The task:

As a baby everything around is new to them. They slowly learn things by keenly observing how each and everything is done. It’s a pleasure to watch a baby learn new things. They learn that they need to cry to get something. They learn that they need to put forward their hands to reach out for something. Many such slow incremental things accumulate in order.

Now the task is if you were to see something with a fresh new perspective, what would be it? Give a baby step to something and explore this new perception and dimension with your engaging thoughts. You can give a fresh meaning to a new word, sentence, concept or anything weird or meaningful.

Sometimes you tend to forget about your childhood once you’re past the stage. I know I almost did, and I’m just 18. That’s sort of sad. I realized this when my cousins (who are 7-8 years old) talk about things I used to talk about as a child.

These days, we grown-ups think so much sci fi and “out of the box”, whenever we hear the words ‘Time Machine’ we immediately think of a vehicle that can travel through time. Maybe take us to the future, or take us back in time. Cause a lot of chaos. Probably like Steins;Gate if we tampered with some world organization. Maybe something like The Time Machine by H. G. Wells. Who knows.

And we tend to project those deep far-thought out things on to  the kids as well. We let them play futuristic sci fi strategy games and let them use the computer by themselves. So when Areeb asked me what he should draw, because he’s all for stick figures and showing off that he knows these things, I told him to draw a time machine.

He drew something that resembled a box that had a clock on it.

Well, according to him the thing was actually moving, and he even drew a line which he declared the destination, and by all means he was thinking of something that could transport one through time. But that clock made me realise that we have time machinnes all around us. The clocks.

9

IBMC #9: The Be a Baby Challenge

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

2 thoughts on “IBMC #9: The Be a Baby Challenge”

Leave a Reply

