Reformation

Have you ever looked at your public identity and thought, “That is not me.”?

Dear readers,

Today, I bring you an announcement.

After over two years with WordPress and over a year and a half of blogging, I now feel that my brand name doesn’t quite fit. “Khan’s Lantern” wasn’t a name I chose out of commitment or particularly passionate feeling. Neither does it hold much of a significance to how I identify myself and my will to write.

These two years, I have spent more time on honing myself as a person and as a writer than ever before. I can’t say I’ve had a monumental moment just yet, but I feel that I’ve reached a point where my dreams will be easier to accomplish.

The name has a nice ring to it, I admit. It does hold a part of my identity, but it no longer feels like the identity I want to broadcast myself as. I need something more. Something different.

I have consulted some of my friends, and they have helped me come up with another name. A name I find myself craving to make mine: Yarnful of Stories.

If you’re wondering, it definitely has something to do with my newfound passion for yarn. I learned both knitting and crocheting this year, and am planning on practicing my yarn skills to the maximum. I find myself unconsciously drawing parallels between these two passions.

So, in the next few months, my blog will go through major changes. And I hope you guys will support me with this.

Have you ever felt that your public identity isn’t something you identify with?

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

11 thoughts on “Reformation”

  1. I haven’t given much thought to my public identity. But both Khan’s Lantern and Yarnful of Stories are unique and beautiful names. Changes are always welcome! So go for it, girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate! 🙂 For the past few months I am wondering if my blog name still fits the content transformation it has been through. And like you… I think I’ve been into a knowing myself more course for the past two years and that involves knowing my writer-self. 🙂 So it is a delight to read this post because it’s like reading my thoughts written in your post. 🙂
    All in all, I love the Yarnful of Stories and it gave me a kind of lovely word entanglements view! 😀 So I will be here, surely, to support your blog’s transformation! 😀

    Like

      1. Oh. Nice to hear that. I would suggest you to take the Writing course from BloggingU (WordPress). They offer them frequently. I took it six months after I started blogging and it helped me a lot to structure and refine my blog.

        You can get the updates about them here:
        https://dailypost.wordpress.com/
        Under ‘Blogging University’ Menu whenever courses are open.

        You can find my course details here:
        https://itsphblog.wordpress.com/blogging-u/blogging-101/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

