Daily Prompt: Unfinished

via Daily Prompt: Unfinished


This has been bugging me for some time.

It’s not the first time I’ve started something only to loose interest somewhere down the line.

Wait. Let’s back up a bit. I used to be the person who was afraid of starting anything. The thought of anything new, or any change, to this day, makes me nervous, and I hate feeling uncomfortable. The start of something new is always a drastic change. It requires effort and constant getting used to.

I don’t remember how exactly, but I formed the notion that starting something new was the hardest part. It was the initial kickoff that mattered the most, and that would keep me going till the very end.

But these days, I find that there are a lot of things I lose steam for partway down the road. The short story I finished the first draft of. The #PromptGame that I started for The Prestigious Writers’ Club. Blog posts that I planned on writing. Chapters I’m supposed to be studying for my A Level exams in six months.

This isn’t the first time this has happened, but I feel like a failure this time. There is this nagging at the back of my head that I’m not doing it right. I don’t like how this unmotivated, undecided state feels.

Has this ever happened to any of you, my dear readers? How do you stay motivated? Please leave your thoughts in the comments, and maybe I’ll find a way to make my life feel more productive.

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

Leave a Reply

