Winter Recedes

Prestigious Writers' Club

The cold comes later
Like ice, taking longer to form
When the temperature is set high in the freezer.

It lasts a shorter time
Like ice-cream left out in the open,
Or like a snowflake, melting on a gloved finger.

It chills with less enthusiasm
Like a war lost
Pointless struggles and dwindling hope.

Winter recedes somewhere we cannot reach
Slowly, waiting for the “all at once”
There’s only so much to do.

Warmth spreads, true to its nature
How long will it take for us to understand
That Winter just wants friends?

View original post

Author: anankhan98

When I close my eyes, I see myself as a writer. I see a pale blank page in front of me and feel a solid pen in my hand. I feel inspiration flowing through me, hear the words being whispered in my ears, ready to be written. And I see myself writing them. So, I write. And that is why I am here right now. To let the world know that I want to become better at this. That there is this unbelievably naive living in this corner of the world, who wants to have people help her become the best she can become. My focus is actually on fiction. I dream up stories in my sleep, literally. And I can't help but want to write them. Knowing English only as a second language is a drawback, though. I still try.

3 thoughts on “Winter Recedes”

Leave a Reply

