Procrastination: The Bane of Effectiveness

Bane is to Batman what Procrastination is to Effectiveness
Bane is to Batman what Procrastination is to Effectiveness

At one point or the other in our lives, we all procrastinate, even if it’s just for five minutes. That doesn’t hurt much. But it does hurt when you procrastinate for hours upon hours or even days on end. So many other things seem so much easier to do. A lot of people will agree with me.

My O Level exams are knocking at the door. I have only about seven to eight months left. Now, I’ve realized that I really need to get working. This blog post is a call out to all my friends out there who aren’t taking things seriously, although they are probably more serious than I am. Please. This is not the time to hang around idly and do nothing. Class ten is not a time for fun and no classes. You might think that it is better to study alone, but cannot bring yourself to do it. I’m not disagreeing with you. But we should really start working hard, because this is not our regular exams.

Also, to all my friends who are freaking out, relax. You’ve got it in you. You just have to calm down, and concentrate. You’ll make it. You’ll probably make it better than me.

This blog has been a dream coming true. Like all my dreams, however, I procrastinated about it. I have had the blog for over two months now. And this is my first entry. Wow. Talk about procrastination. And not only this. I have procrastinated on so many things that it now shames me. Reading “The & Habits of Highly Effective Teens” took me one whole month to get myself to read. I think. I’m not even sure anymore. And I have still been procrastinating on the entelechy of the seven habits. There are so many other good books I want to read, which I just cannot bring myself to start. Why? Procrastination.

I wish I could procrastinate on procrastination. That is a good thing. I recommend the following books to my readers and friends:

  1. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens/People, (depending on your age) by Sean Covey
  2. The War of Art, by Steven Pressfield
  3. Show Your Work, by Austin Kleon
  4. Steal Like an Artist, by Austin Kleon
  5. Turning Pro, by Steven Pressfield

This post was reblogged to selfsurge.com

2 thoughts on “Procrastination: The Bane of Effectiveness”

  1. Pingback: Khan's Lantern

Leave a comment